Spaghetti with Avocado Cream Sauce

For dinner, I went with Vegan Yak Attack‘s Avocado Mac‘s sauce (no elbows or bacon). I realized I only had 88 grams of avocado in the freezer to use (I had 3/4 avocado, not 3/4 cup). According to my web search, 3/4 cup avocado would be 112.5 grams. So I looked around and decided on peas to make up the rest of the weight. Peas are a good source of protein, so they’d cut back on the calories from fat while still being a substantial sauce. I also used apple cider vinegar, red miso, soy sauce instead of aminos, and 1 teaspoon mustard powder instead of 2 teaspoons Dijon.

The sauce was super easy to put together. All I had to do was throw everything in my blender. I used the single serve cup from my Ninja and it was perfect. I didn’t defrost the avocado or peas all the way, but it did fine. I thought it tasted great; Catboy did not and Hunny Bunny reported disliking it before she even tried it. Catboy described it as too tangy, sour, and bland. I liked the tangy, slightly spicy, creamy flavor. I think it would be good with some diced or sun-dried tomatoes.

I had it over spaghetti squash; whole wheat noodles for the kids (they had both noodles together). I pierced and oven roasted the spaghetti squash hours ahead of time, then carefully sliced it open and let it cool for about an hour before removing seeds and serving. I think this works really well, if I’m able to plan ahead and be home for it. It would probably work to do it days ahead of time and keep it in the fridge before de-seeding (seeding?) and scraping out the noodles.

Leave a Reply

