Portobella Marinara Caps with Balsamic Baby Spinach

Mushrooms are such a controversial food. I rarely hear of people that think they are mediocre. It’s always “Yum!” or “the most disgusting food ever!” I fall into the former camp. Hunny Bunny loves them, just like me. Catboy officially hates them, but I’ve managed to make a veggie burger recipe with ground dried shrooms that he enjoyed, and he liked it when I hid minced shrooms along with lentils as the fake meat in an enchilada casserole. My mom would literally get sick if I tried to sneak mushrooms into her food.

Anyway, today I made this separately, just for me. I used 2 large portobella caps, total of 6 oz. I never bother removing the stem; they are edible but I see many recipes that say to discard them for some reason. I pricked the smooth edge with a butter knife before I put them in the pan.

I used cast iron, and put a little coconut oil in first. Once that was heated, I put the mushrooms in and cooked on both sides, loosely covering with a lid. Then I added marinara sauce (I like Hunt’s Garlic and Herb pasta sauce, but any would work, I’m sure) to the gill side. Cook a little longer, turning over when it gets watery.

I let those cool on my plate (smooth side down) as I cooked the spinach (about 60 grams) in the same pan with a few tablespoons balsamic vinegar. After most of liquid was reduced, I piled the spinach atop the shrooms and sprinkled with dried basil. I bet they would make good burgers, between a hearty bun, but I ate with fork and knife. Yum!

Do you like mushrooms? Do you know of anyone that feels apathetic about them, or is everyone you know pretty passionate about loving/hating them?

Leave a Reply

