Black Bean Veggie Burger

Ever since going vegetarian at age 13, I’ve thought of veggie burger patties as kind of a staple or veg*ns. My parents will grill them for me next to their chicken, and you can get creative using them in other recipes. Catboy even likes them. I was suprised (and my wallet was pleased) when I discovered I could make my own!

I have found Black Bean Veggie Burgers to be quite tasty. I’ve used leek instead of onion and roasted red pepper from a jar with good results. I have also substituted frozen pre-diced onion (chopping onions is the worst!). The tahini and soy sauce really makes for a great, savory flavor. Catboy requested a repeat meal on another day. I loved BBQ sauce and kale on mine instead of bun.

When I cooked them in my cast iron pan, I noticed they needed less than 10 minutes per side, maybe even just 5. They freeze well–I cook them per the recipe, then freeze, then reheat in the microwave to serve.

What do you like on your burger?

Leave a Reply

