30 minute pizza from scratch

Who doesn’t like pizza? I used the recipe from Fleischmann’s pizza crust yeast. I went with 1 cup whole wheat flour, and I accidentally added an extra 1/2 teaspoon sugar.

For the sauce, I used 1 can tomato paste mixed with 1 can water plus about a tablespoon total of oregano, marjoram, garlic powder, salt, and pepper (I had plenty left over). I oiled and preheated my pizza pan (metal with holes, not nonstick). First I flattened the dough into a circle holding it in my hands, then I spread it out as thin as I could onto the hot pan.

I topped it with sauce, chopped fresh asparagus, roasted minced garlic from a jar, and pieces of lightly seasoned Beyond Meat “chicken”. I placed in back into the oven until the crust was turning brown, then topped with nutritional yeast.

The crust was perfectly crispy on the bottom and the nutritional yeast was the only cheese we used. Catboy said he liked the yeast better than the other vegan cheeses we’ve tried. Hunny Bunny ate a whole piece without picking it to pieces, even though she was overdue for a nap.

This is not a low calorie meal, unfortunately–I enjoyed it thoroughly but next time I’ll need to prepare a very light, veggie-heavy side dish to eat with it!

How do you make pizza tastier and healthier?

Leave a Reply

