Savory zucchini muffins

In my quest for a sugar-free zucchini muffin, I started thinking about getting away from sweet altogether. It doesn’t even have to be breakfast-y. In my search results for “savory zucchini bread,” one stood out–Namely Marly!

She is local to me and vegan. So of course I had to click on it and see if her recipe looked good.

It had no sugar, only a small amount of oil, and was already vegan! It did call for all-purpose flour rather than a whole grain. But I decided to give it a shot.

I replaced 1/3 of the AP flour with whole wheat. I used cherry (or was it grape? Is there a difference?) tomatoes, quartered, instead of the diced or sliced tomatoes, and didn’t remove any seeds. I used unsweetened almond milk because my soy milk has sugar. My muffins also have dried parsley instead of scallions and the zucchini is of course pureed instead of grated.

image 

I think they turned out pretty darn good!

 

image

Soft and fluffy on the inside. They would be wonderful dipped into marinara sauce to a garlicky soup. They got a little soggy from the tomato in places, so diced would have been better or maybe if I had mixed the tomato pieces into the dry ingredients it would have worked out (I stand by the quartered tomatoes like little flags on top).

They are in the freezer so we’ll see how Catboy and Hunny Bunny like them soon!

Leave a Reply

